Prospects on the Future

The future is terrifying. Especially when you’re one of those people who still have their “whole lives ahead of you”. I mean that phrase can mean anything. You could get caught up in the whole economic instability of the country you live in and end up on the streets, end up at death’s door by some unlucky circumstance, or you could by some stroke of luck be somewhat successful, own a house, meet someone, and start a family.

My friends, I feel, think that I am blowing this future business way out of proportion and sometimes I agree with them. But really ,when all you’ve grown up seeing are your parents being miserable working paycheck to paycheck just to put food on the table, buy us decent clothes, and to keep a roof over our heads it’s hard not to think about it. As a young girl I remember thinking about the future,what I’d be like in about 10 years. I wish I could tell myself, “Stick to being a kid. Trust me. Think about that stuff later on because believe me you’re missing out on so much thinking about this future business.” I mean look at me now.

I feel great remorse for those in high school and college/university. I mean one really bad slip up and your whole future could be devastated. The future, instead of being what’s to come, has become our lives if we’re being honest. Some work and study nonstop hoping that their “future” turns out well. Whatever happened to just living?

I am not mad at my parents or blaming them in any way, but I believe that they missed out on some my biggest stepping-stones during my early adolescent years. I never really had anyone to confide in because I was taught not to trust anybody and my parents were always working or too busy trying to give us a better future. Nonetheless however I am eternally grateful for all they are doing and are going to do. See, we are able to use that word in substitution for the word “life”.

I suppose you could say that my time to think about the future is already here. How do I get ready? What do I do? What should pick? When? Where? How? Can I? All these questions always hover over the future and all we can do it answer them one by one. We don’t have to answer all of them, but I’m pretty sure everybody answers a handful sooner or later. images

Leave a Reply

